C.F Orr Stakes

C.F Orr Stakes
1400m | Group 1 Weight for Age | Caulfield Racecourse | Prize money: $500,000

The C F Orr Stakes is a MRC Group 1 weight-for-age Thoroughbred horse race run over a distance of 1400 metres at Caulfield Racecourse in February. The total prize money is A$500,000.
The CF Orr Stakes is a quality Group 1 event that attracts some of the stars of the turf and the honour roll over the years has seen many a top class horse on the winner’s list, including champion mares Black Caviar (2012) and Typhoon Tracy.

Any above average three-year-olds contesting the CF Orr Stakes will generally head on to the Australian Guineas at Flemington in March. Shamus Award who ended up winning the Cox Plate went on to win the Australian Guineas after running third in this race.

Black Heart Bart (2017) finished runner-up in the Gr2 Australia Stakes over 1200m at Moonee Valley before his impressive victory in this event and recent CF Orr Stakes winners include Suavito (2016) and Dissident (2015).

Quick Betting Facts

• The 2016 winner Capitalist became the third horse to win the Magic Millions 2YO Classic and the Golden Slipper in the same year. He joined Dance Hero in 2004 and Phelan Ready in 2009.
• No trainer has ever won the 2YO Classic and the 3YO Guineas in the same year.

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Black Heart Bart Turn Me Loose Ecuador 1:22.6
2016 Suavito Lucky Hussler Hucklebuck 1:23.4
2015 Dissident Entirely Platinum Mourinho 1:23.3
2014 Moment Of Change Eurozone Shamus Award 1:23.0
2013 All Too Hard Mawingo Mr Moet 1:22.8
2012 Black Caviar Southern Speed Playing God 1:25.1
2011 Typhoon Tracy Heart Of Dreams Ortensia 1:22.7
2010 Typhoon Tracy Heart Of Dreams Sirmione 1:23.4
2009 Maldivian Alamosa Theseo 1:24.0
2008 Shinzig Niconero Rubiscent 1:23.8
2007 El Segundo Marasco Aqua Damore 1:23.2
2006 Perfect Promise Lad Of The Manor Fields Of Omagh 1:22.3
2005 Elvstroem Savabeel Lad Of The Manor 1:22.8
2004 Lonhro Vocabulary Sound Action 1:21.9
2003 Yell Fields Of Omagh Innovation Girl 1:22.5
2002 Barkada Northerly Cent Home 1:24.6
2001 Desert Sky Skoozi Please Hit The Roof 1:21.6
2000 Redoutes Choice Miss Pennymoney Intergaze 1:24.1
1999 Grand Archway Bezeal Bay Istidaad 1:24.0
1998 Special Dane Al Mansour Might And Power 1:22.5
1997 Saintly Cut Up Rough Star Dancer 1:25.6
1996 Racers Edge Count Rivas Circles Of Gold 1:26.4
1995 Jeune Hurricane Sky Schillaci 1:21.1
1994 Primacy Asian Incline Fraar 1:23.7
1993 Durbridge Jolly Old Mac Corndale 1:21.9
1992 Lets Elope Prince Salieri Braashee 1:22.0
1991 Planet Ruler Ark Regal Vo Rogue 1:23.0
1990 Vo Rogue Super Impose Kings High 1:23.3
1989 Vo Rogue Super Impose Marwong 1:23.3
1988 Vo Rogue King Phoenix Groucho 1:24.3